Earning per share: net profit or operating profit

General Discussions about new beta versions of Capitalism Lab
markyears
Level 2 user

Earning per share: net profit or operating profit

Post by markyears »

This topic is not a question about technical issue but rather some discussion about the mechanism of the game and the strategy of the game.

I'm a little confused about the calculation of earning per share. In this game, I guess it is based on operating profit rather than net profit (which includes the profit from stock). Moreover, I have a feeling that the stock price of my corporation is mainly determined by the operating profit, not the net profit.

I have very little knowledge about finance or economy, so I don't know what's going in reality. But in the game, because of this mechanism, I am less motivated to set up subsidiaries or leave the acquired corporation as subsidiaries.

The reason is the following: If I control a subsidiary, and it can make good profit, then my net worth or my net profit will be very good since usually P/B ratio is larger than 1. I will be more benefit when I own its stock than I own its asset directly (merger). But of course this net profit increase cannot help my operating profit, and my stock price (or player's personal wealth) is not significantly increasing. So I would rather merge the subsidiary and enjoy their operating profit directly, not being Warren Buffett.

Please tell me if I'm making any sense.
geek180
Level 2 user

Re: Earning per share: net profit or operating profit

Post by geek180 »

Really good points. i'd love to see a response from the devs.
markyears
Level 2 user

Post by markyears »

geek180 wrote:Really good points. i'd love to see a response from the devs.